top of page
  • ahays75

Girly DIY Dresser

Updated: Sep 27, 2020

I love how the dresser turned out… vintage, girly, and SUPER AFFORDABLE!

This dresser was one of the first DIY projects that I did by myself for our home. A couple of years ago I saw this really pretty, super girly dresser on Pinterest and I saved it so I can find something similar when my girls got older. Well, the time came and I went to so many thrift stores looking for a vintage dresser and I couldn’t find anything! Then it was my lucky day, I’d just left my daughter’s school holiday performance and there was a Goodwill not too far so I popped in really quick. Guess how much I bought this dresser for… $1!! I was shocked when the cashier told me, I guess it was one of those days where all items with a certain colored sticker are $1. I didn’t question her, I did a happy dance and yelled out “Wont he do?!”

Guess how much I bought this dresser for… $1!!

The dresser was actually pretty easy to paint. I used Behr Marquee Interior Semi- Gloss formula in the shade Silverstone. One quart was more than enough to paint two dressers and a nightstand. This paint formula is awesome, no sanding or priming is needed and I only needed to apply one coat for smooth results. I used a foam roller in the smooth areas and an angled brush to get in the detailed corners. Be sure to take the drawers out before painting and remove all of the hardware. I taped the hardware inside of each drawer so that I didn’t get confused because the drawers like the same, but are different sizes. I let the pieces dry completely then added the hardware back to each drawer.

Check out the process





I love how the dresser turned out… vintage, girly, and SUPER AFFORDABLE!


Have you tried painting furniture? If there are any projects that you’d like me to share please comment below or send me an email. Stay safe!

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page